top of page

Growing up being a multi sport athlete

I’m definitely going to take some heat for this one, but to start off, I’m not an expert any in any sort of field, these opinions are my own, and I’m not saying this is the best way by any means. These opinions come strictly from my experiences and I'm not telling anyone what to do. With that being said, I am a firm believer in the multi sport philosophy for all young athletes looking to maximize their skills as they get older. A few of the reasons why I think it’s important and what I have learned through the years include some physical, mental and just psychological benefits for growing up dreaming of playing sports.

Growing up, I played both hockey and baseball religiously. I dabbled in other sports like golf, squash, you name it. It was all just for fun, nothing serious. During my youth sports career, from the start of hockey season, to tryout for next year, all I did was hockey. I didn’t focus on anything other than what I was doing. I may have gone to a batting cage or in indoor facility when I was bored or had an off weekend, but nothing serious. However, as soon as hockey tryouts for the following year were over, and my season playoffs had ended, it was baseball season. My dad would let me do maybe one or two hockey tournaments of my choice throughout the summer. Those two along with the New England Regional Development camps was pretty much it. I don’t know why, but that’s just was I did. I didn't hate hockey at all. It was my favorite sport to play by far but once the season ended my commitments changed for the rest of the year. Looking back, I’m grateful for it. I may not have gone to the big peewee tournament in Europe, the can't miss showcase in who knows where, or even the skating coach that you had to get sessions with to get better. But I gained a lot of things in different areas that I truly think made me successful today and are important to being an athlete and competitor.


Nowadays youth sports are crazy. I don’t know how these kids play all these games and practices and still have the energy to do anything else. Physically, by not doing the same sport all year round I felt like certain part of my body were getting a rest and not overworked so young. Obviously you don't notice when you're really young but getting into AAA and high school there definitely was a refreshed feeling. Skating all winter long and then being outside playing baseball (or whatever sport you like) for the summer gave my hips and feet a big rest. I really noticed going into prep school, and I really notice it now having to focus on hockey at all times because its my job. Along with that, I felt like it was training other muscles that I would have never had the ability to do playing strictly one sport. As a hockey player you don’t use much of you hamstrings and running muscles because you're so bent forward and locked into a boot all the time. Doing something else gave me the ability to train and even out my muscles or body while playing a game and having fun. Don't listen to the guy with three shoulder surgeries, but I felt like being well rounded helped me stay healthy. Up until I started playing one sport specific, I can't remember a time I got hurt beside falling off a bike here or there.


Not only did I find physical benefits, but I found that the mental change of pace was beneficial. Hockey is such a high speed, fast decision, and volatile sport, that playing baseball gave me another perspective on competing. (I'm not saying baseball specifically, this is just what I grew up with). Every play is stopped, you have to think differently for every pitch. You have to know what’s going on before the play and exactly what you will do if you're involved. This is completely different then what you are accustomed to at a high pace on the ice. Not to mention that there’s a different kind of pressure in every sport. Hockey is very team based where you can be helped or help a teammate. If you play something more individual like baseball, tennis, or golf, it can teach you different responsibilities and high pressure scenarios.


Lastly, I found that the psychological break that came with doing something else as a kid was huge. First off, just being out of the cold, dark, public hockey rink and being outside every day as a kid was so refreshing. Just playing outside in the sun and fresh air was healthy for my mind. Along with that, if you love the game if hockey like I do, a break makes you hungrier. While baseball or whatever I doing was winding down and you’ve been out of season for a bit, it makes you want it more. I remember my freshman year at Phillips Exeter, every student had to play a sport every term for school. In the Fall term, I did soccer because a lot of my friends played already at the school and I was like why not, I'll kick the ball around. Not only was I in the best shape of my life after running so much, but I never wanted to get in a rink so bad in my life after running so much. And let me tell you, it stays with you. I’m at about month 8 of not playing hockey at the moment due to my season being pushed back because of the coronavirus, and I have never wanted anything more than to be in a real game right now.


I'm not saying this is the right thing for everyone by any means. And I'm not saying this is specific to hockey, it could be anything. To add to that, I'm not saying you should force a kid to do something they don't want to do, just to give the an edge. However, over the course of my youth, prep, college and now pro career, I think getting those different experiences and breaks gave me different skills that I could bring to the ice and gave me success as a player and competitor.


Oh, I almost forgot. I will say one thing though, shoot pucks in your driveway as a kid. Whether it's 20 a day or more. That is one thing that I did not take advantage of as a child and I regret it. Repetition is a life saver and you will be thanking yourself when you're my age for that sick release that I wish I had. You're welcome.

The boyssss

Subscribe down below for more content and special guest blogs coming soon! Use code YOUNG12 in the Orgain supplement store for 30% off your first purchase.



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page